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Per Curiam:  Charles Robert Cline appeals his sentence following his conviction 

of driving under the influence (DUI). He argues that the district court abused its 

discretion by imposing a sentence in excess of the statutory minimum. Finding no error, 

we affirm the district court's judgment. 

 

On September 12, 2011, Cline pled guilty to one count of DUI and one count of 

driving with a defective taillight. The presentence investigation report disclosed a 2005 

Kansas DUI conviction and a 1996 Colorado DUI conviction. At the sentencing hearing 

on March 20, 2012, Cline objected to the district court counting his 1996 Colorado DUI 
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conviction for sentencing purposes. The district court overruled Cline's objection and 

classified the current conviction as his third offense. The district court sentenced Cline to 

12 months in jail and granted him a 12-month probation term after he served 90 days in 

jail. Cline appealed his sentence and posted an appeal bond. This court affirmed Cline's 

sentence in State v. Cline, No. 108,449, 2014 WL 1887619 (Kan. App. 2014) 

(unpublished opinion). On April 29, 2015, we issued a mandate to enforce the sentence. 

 

On June 1, 2015, Cline filed a motion to correct sentence. In the motion, Cline 

argued that his 1996 Colorado DUI conviction could not count as a prior conviction 

because it occurred prior to July 1, 2001, and he was convicted of his current offense 

after July 2011. The district court held a second sentencing hearing on June 8, 2015. At 

the hearing, the State conceded that under State v. Reese, 300 Kan. 650, 333 P.3d 149 

(2014), Cline should be sentenced for the DUI as a second offense.  

 

The district court resentenced Cline to 12 months in jail but suspended the 

sentence and granted Cline a 12-month supervised probation term. The State asked the 

court to order Cline to serve 90 days in jail prior to being placed on probation, and Cline 

requested that he only be required to serve the minimum 5 days in jail prior to being 

placed on probation. The district court split the difference and ordered Cline to serve 30 

days in jail prior to being released on probation. Cline filed a timely notice of appeal of 

his resentencing and again posted an appeal bond.  

 

 On appeal, Cline argues that the district court abused its discretion when it 

resentenced him. Specifically, Cline argues that the district court abused its discretion 

because it imposed the maximum 12-month underlying sentence and imposed 30 days in 

jail prior to receiving probation as opposed to the statutory minimum of 5 days in jail. 

The State responds that Cline received a legally appropriate sentence and the 30-day jail 

term before being placed on probation was not an abuse of discretion.  
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Cline was convicted of DUI, a nongrid offense. An appellate court reviews the 

sentence for a nongrid offense under pre-Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act standards. 

State v. Landa, No. 100,116, 2009 WL 2371015, at *6 (Kan. App. 2009) (unpublished 

opinion). Under these standards, a sentence that is within the statutory parameters will 

not be reversed unless it was the result of partiality, prejudice, oppression, corrupt 

motive, or was an abuse of discretion. 2009 WL 2371015, at *6. "A district court abuses 

its discretion if its judgment is so arbitrary that no reasonable person would agree with it 

or if its ruling is based on an error of law or fact." State v. Parker, 48 Kan. App. 2d 68, 

282 P.3d 643 (2012). The party alleging an abuse of discretion bears the burden of 

proving the abuse. State v. Rojas-Marceleno, 295 Kan. 525, 531, 285 P.3d 361 (2012).  

 

 On a second conviction of DUI, the defendant shall be sentenced to not less than 

90 days nor more than 1 year of imprisonment and shall serve at least 5 consecutive days 

of imprisonment before probation may be granted. K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 8-1567(b)(1)(B). 

Cline's 12-month underlying sentence is within the statutory parameters. On appeal, Cline 

does not advance any argument for why the 12-month underlying sentence was an abuse 

of discretion. An issue not briefed by the appellant is deemed waived and abandoned. 

State v. Boleyn, 297 Kan. 610, 633, 303 P.3d 680 (2013).  

 

 Cline's brief focuses on the 30-day jail sentence he is required to serve before 

being eligible for probation. In ordering that Cline serve 30 days in jail, as opposed to the 

statutory minimum of 5 days, the district court noted that the offense was Cline's third 

lifetime DUI conviction even though it was only his second conviction in the last 10 

years. Cline fails to establish how this order constituted an abuse of discretion. It was not 

unreasonable for the district court to sentence Cline to 30 days in jail rather than 5 days 

because this was his third lifetime DUI conviction. Thus, we conclude that the district 

court did not abuse its discretion when it resentenced Cline.  

 

 Affirmed.  


