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LEBEN, J.: Bradley Walker appeals the sentence imposed for his conviction for 

aggravated battery. Presumptive sentences for most Kansas crimes are based on the 

extent of a defendant's past crimes—summarized in a criminal-history score ranging from 

A, the most serious, to I, the least serious. Walker argues that he got a longer sentence 

than he should have because the district court mistakenly calculated his criminal-history 

score when it treated his Arkansas burglary convictions as prior person crimes.  

 

A Kansas burglary counts as a person offense, as does an out-of-state burglary 

conviction that's comparable to what Kansas statutes define as burglary. Walker argues 
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that the Arkansas burglary convictions can't be counted as person crimes because the 

Arkansas burglary statute is broader than the Kansas one and thus not comparable. We 

agree, which requires that we vacate his aggravated-battery sentence and remand for 

resentencing with a corrected criminal-history score.  

 

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 

We need only briefly set the stage because the issue on appeal is a narrow one. 

Walker pleaded guilty to one count of aggravated battery (a level-4 person felony) and 

one count of robbery (a level-5 person felony)—offenses committed in January 2016.  

 

Before sentencing, a presentence investigation looks to see what the defendant's past 

offenses have been so that the court can determine the defendant's criminal-history score. 

That score is then used to determine the presumptive prison sentence. After the report is 

prepared, the defendant has the chance to challenge its accuracy. 

 

The most important past convictions are ones for person felonies. With a single 

person felony, a defendant moves into category D; with two, the defendant is in category B, 

the second-worst score among nine levels. Walker's report showed two person-felony 

convictions for residential burglaries in Arkansas from 2002. 

 

Walker objected to the classification of two prior burglary convictions from Arkansas 

as person felonies. If they were characterized as nonperson felonies, Walker would have 

dropped into criminal-history category E, a category that applies when the defendant has had 

at least three nonperson-felony offenses. In addition to the two burglaries from 2002, Walker 

had several nonperson felonies from Arkansas, including theft, commercial burglary, and 

being a felon in possession of a firearm in 2010. Walker agrees that he would be in the 

criminal-history E category if the 2002 burglaries are considered nonperson offenses. 
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The district court overruled Walker's objections and found that the burglary 

convictions were properly classified as person felonies. That gave Walker a criminal-history 

score of B. That score is used only for sentencing a defendant on the most-serious charge, 

though; for all but the most-serious offense, Kansas law provides that the lowest criminal-

history score, I, be used to calculate the guidelines sentence. 

 

Based on the guidelines sentences that applied to an aggravated-battery conviction 

and criminal-history-score B, the court sentenced Walker to prison for 154 months for that 

offense. The court sentenced Walker to serve 32 months in prison for robbery, but the court 

made the sentences concurrent, meaning they are served together, so the total sentence is 154 

months. 

 

Walker then appealed to our court.  

 

ANALYSIS 

 

The key dispute here is whether Walker's criminal-history score should be B, as the 

district court concluded, or E, as Walker argues. The difference is significant in determining 

Walker's presumptive sentence. See K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6804(a). We review the proper 

classification of a defendant's convictions under the guidelines independently, with no 

required deference to the district court. See State v. O'Connor, 299 Kan. 819, 822, 326 P.3d 

1064 (2014).  

 

Under the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act, a defendant's sentence is based on 

the severity of the current offense and the defendant's criminal-history score. See K.S.A. 

2018 Supp. 21-6804(a), K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6805(a). The severity level of the current 

offense is set by statute. Those levels for nondrug offenses range from level 1, the most 

serious, to level 10, the least-serious felonies. Walker's aggravated-battery offense is at 

level 4; his robbery conviction was level 5. The criminal-history score is based on the 



4 

 

defendant's prior convictions, including those from other states. See K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 

21-6809; K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e). 

 

Based on a defendant's criminal-history score and the severity level of his 

offenses, the guidelines provide three sentence lengths that the sentencing judge could 

choose from—a mitigated (or shorter) sentence, a standard sentence, and an aggravated 

(or longer) sentence. In Walker's case, the three available sentences for his most-serious 

offense, aggravated battery, were 144, 154, or 162 months in prison with a criminal-

history-score of B. But with a criminal-history score of E, the choices would have been 

57, 60, or 64 months in prison.  

 

As we have noted, the sentence for felonies other than the most-serious one get 

calculated using a criminal-history score of I. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6819(b)(5). That 

made the presumptive sentences for the robbery conviction 31, 32, or 34 months. And 

those numbers aren't challenged on appeal. 

 

With that background about the importance of the dispute about Walker's 

criminal-history score, we move on to how the district court decides how to characterize 

a past conviction. First, the district court determines whether the prior conviction should 

be classified as a felony or a misdemeanor. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e)(2). There's no 

dispute about whether Walker's 2002 Arkansas convictions were felonies under Ark. 

Code Ann. § 5-39-201 (2015), so the next step is to classify the defendant's out-of-state 

conviction as a person or nonperson offense. To do this, the district court compares the 

out-of-state offense to a comparable one in effect in Kansas on the date the defendant 

committed the current crime of conviction. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e)(3). If there's 

no comparable offense in Kansas, the conviction must be classified as a nonperson 

crime. K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811(e)(3). 
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When it ruled, the district court had several decisions from our court to rely on that 

had interpreted "comparable" Kansas offenses as those prohibiting similar conduct as the 

out-of-state offense—we had held that the elements of both crimes didn't have to be 

identical. See, e.g., State v. Moore, 52 Kan. App. 2d 799, 813-14, 377 P.3d 1162 (2016), 

rev'd 307 Kan. 599, 412 P.3d 965 (2018); State v. Riolo, 50 Kan. App. 2d 351, 353, 330 

P.3d 1120 (2014); State v. Barajas, 43 Kan. App. 2d 639, 643, 230 P.3d 784 (2010). But 

the Kansas Supreme Court ruled after Walker had been sentenced that "[f]or an out-of-

state conviction to be comparable to an offense [in Kansas], . . . the elements of the out-

of-state crime must be identical to, or narrower than, the elements of the [comparable] 

Kansas crime . . . ." State v. Wetrich, 307 Kan. 552, Syl. ¶ 3, 412 P.3d 984 (2018).  

 

If we apply Wetrich, Walker is correct that the district court should have scored 

the Arkansas convictions as nonperson offenses. Under the Arkansas statute, a person 

commits either residential or commercial burglary "if he or she enters or remains 

unlawfully in a [residential or commercial] occupiable structure of another person with the 

purpose of committing in the [residential or commercial] occupiable structure any offense 

punishable by imprisonment." (Emphasis added.) Ark. Code Ann. § 5-39-201 (2015). A 

person may be imprisoned in Arkansas for committing a variety of misdemeanors or 

felonies. See Ark. Code Ann. § 5-1-107 (2015). So entering another person's building to 

commit a variety of offenses would qualify in Arkansas as a burglary. In Kansas, on the 

other hand, the intent part of the definition of burglary was more limited—the intent had 

to be to commit a felony, a theft, or a sexually motivated crime there. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 

21-5807. This means the Arkansas statute was broader than the Kansas burglary statute. 

 

The State argues that Wetrich does not apply because of a 2017 amendment to K.S.A. 

2018 Supp. 22-3504(3) that states: "A sentence is not an 'illegal sentence' because of a 

change in the law that occurs after the sentence is pronounced." The State says the Supreme 

Court's ruling in Wetrich was a change in the law after Walker's sentencing, so the new 

identical-or-narrower-than rule doesn't apply to Walker's sentence. But the Wetrich court did 
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not change the law. Instead, it simply interpreted the meaning of "comparable offense" in an 

existing Kansas statute, K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811: "We can resolve the issue presented 

here on the basis of statutory interpretation [of K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 21-6811]." Wetrich, 307 

Kan. at 558. The statute didn't change, and the Wetrich court simply interpreted it. See State 

v. Thomas, 53 Kan. App. 2d 15, 24, 383 P.3d 152 (2016), rev. denied 306 Kan. 1330 

(2017); State v. Smith, No. 117,237, 2018 WL 2271412, at *4 (Kan. App. 2018) 

(unpublished opinion). We must apply Wetrich and conclude that the trial court erred when it 

classified Walker's Arkansas burglary convictions as person offenses. 

 

In sum, the elements of the Arkansas burglary statute are broader than the elements 

of the Kansas crime, so the Kansas and Arkansas burglary offenses aren't comparable. See 

Wetrich, 307 Kan. 552, Syl. ¶ 3 ("[T]he elements of the out-of-state crime cannot be 

broader than the elements of the Kansas crime."). That means that Walker's criminal-

history score should have been E, not B. His sentence on the aggravated-battery conviction 

must be set aside; the remainder of the sentence given to him is not affected by the error. 

See State v. Jamerson, 309 Kan. 211, Syl. ¶ 4, 433 P.3d 698 (2019). 

 

We vacate Walker's sentence on the aggravated-battery conviction and remand the 

case for resentencing on that conviction. 

 

 


