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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Administrative Order 

2022-RL-082 

Rules Relating to Judicial Conduct 

The court amends the attached Supreme Court Rule 601B, Kansas Code of 

Judicial Conduct Rules 3.10 and 3.15, effective the date of this order. 

Dated this 8th day of December 2022. 

FOR THE COURT 

MARLA LUCKERT 
Chief Justice 

browns
12.08.2022
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RULE 3.10 

 

Practice of Law 

 

 A judge must not practice law. A judge may act pro se and may, without 

compensation, give legal advice to and draft or review documents for a member of the 

judge’s family, but the judge is prohibited from serving as the family member’s lawyer in 

any forum. This rule does not prohibit the practice of law pursuant to, and in the context 

of, a judge’s military service. 

 

COMMENT 

 

 [1] A judge may act pro se in all legal matters, including matters involving 

litigation and matters involving appearances before or other dealings with governmental 

bodies. A judge must not use the prestige of office to advance the judge’s personal or 

family interests. See Rule 1.3. 

 

 [2] A judge will remain subject to conflict of interest and impropriety constraints.  

See Rule 2.11. 

 

 [3] A judge or court staff does not violate this rule by supervising a research 

attorney working for the Kansas Judicial Branch under a legal intern permit or a 

temporary permit to practice law. See Supreme Court Rules 715 and 718. 
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RULE 3.15 

Reporting Requirements 

(A) A judge must shall publicly report:  

(1) compensation received for extrajudicial activities as permitted by Rule 3.12 

and compensation received by the judge’s spouse or domestic partner. Reportable 

compensation means income received for the personal services of the judge in an amount 

in excess of $500 from any single payor or in excess of $3,000 from all payors during the 

reporting period; income received for the personal services of the judge’s spouse or 

domestic partner in an amount in excess of $3,000 from a single source during the 

reporting period; and income derived from business; royalties, including ownership of 

mineral rights; annuities; life insurance; and contract payments. 

(2) fees and commissions. A judge must shall report each client or customer who 

pays fees or commissions to a business or combination of businesses from which fees or 

commissions the judge, the judge’s spouse, or the judge’s domestic partner received an 

aggregate in excess of $3,000 during the reporting period. The phrase “client or 

customer” relates only to businesses or a combination of businesses. The term “business” 

means any corporation, association, partnership, proprietorship, trust, joint venture, or a 

governmental agency unit, or a governmental subdivision, and every other business 

interest, including ownership or use of land for income. The term “combination of 

businesses” means any two or more businesses owned or controlled directly by the same 

interests. The term “other business interest” means any endeavor that which produces 

income, including appraisals, consulting, authorships, inventing, or the sale of goods and 

services. 

(3) ownership interests. A judge must shall report any corporation, partnership, 

proprietorship, trust, retirement plan, joint venture, and every other business interest, 

including land used for income, in which either the judge, the judge’s spouse or domestic 

partner, dependent children, or dependent stepchildren have owned a legal or equitable 

interest exceeding $5,000 during the reporting period. 

(4) gifts and other things of value as permitted by Rule 3.13(C), unless the value 

of such items, alone or in the aggregate with other items received from the same source in 

the same calendar year, does not exceed $200.  

(5) reimbursement of expenses and waiver of fees or charges permitted by Rule 

3.14(A), unless the amount of reimbursement or waiver, alone or in the aggregate with 

other reimbursements or waivers received from the same source in the same calendar 

year, does not exceed $200. Expense reimbursement limited to the actual cost of travel, 

food, and lodging reasonably incurred by the judge and, where appropriate to the 
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occasion, by the judge’s spouse or domestic partner should be reported as a gift. Any 

payment in excess of such an amount is to be reported as compensation. 

(6) positions. A judge must shall report any business, organization, including a 

labor organization, educational or other institution, and or entity in which the judge now 

holds or has held a position of officer, director, associate, partner, proprietor, trustee, 

guardian, custodian, or similar fiduciary, representative, employee, or consultant at the 

time of filing this report or during the reporting period. 

(7) liabilities. A judge must shall report all of the judge’s, the judge’s spouse’s or 

domestic partner’s, dependent children’s, and dependent stepchildren’s liabilities to any 

creditor that which exceeded $10,000 at any time during the reporting period except for 

any liability owed to a spouse, parent, brother, sister, or child; any mortgage secured by 

real property that which is a personal residence of the judge or the judge’s spouse or 

domestic partner; any loan secured by a personal motor vehicle, household furniture, or 

appliances that does not exceed the purchase price of the item securing the liability; any 

student loans or loans from a lending institution in its regular course of business on the 

same terms generally available to persons who are not judges; any revolving charge 

account, the balance of which did not exceed $10,000 at the close of the reporting period; 

and political campaign funds. 

(B) A judge must shall report annually the information listed above in (A)(1) 

through (7) on a form reviewed provided by the Commission on Judicial Conduct and 

approved by the Supreme Court. The judge’s report for the preceding calendar year must 

shall be submitted as a public document with the Office of the Judicial Administration on 

or before April 15 of each year. 

 

 


