IN THE SUPREME COQURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Administrative Order No, 74

Re Amendments to the Rules Relating to the
Kansas Court Personnel Systemn

Rules 4.17 ¢, 4.17 d, Appendix A and Appendix D of the
Rules Relating to the Kansas Court Personnel System are hereby

amended effective March 18, 1990, by the attached pages.

BY ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT this /=% day of March 1990.
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2. Employees who were on steps D, D3, D6, D%, D12,
D15, and D18 with 12 or more months time-on-step
as of June 18, 1989 will be converted and will
be eligible to receive an increase to the next
step on the FY 1990 pay plan. ©Subseguent step
movement on the pay plan will be based upon new
merit increase dates calculated from June 18,
1989.

3. Employees who were on steps D, D3, D6, D9, D12,
D15, and D18 with less than 12 months time-on-
step will be assigned to the corresponding step
of the FY 1990 pay plan. Subsequent step move-
ment on the pay plan will be based upon the
completion of the 12 months or one year time-
on-step requirement.

4.14 Individual Salary Decreases

Upon recommendation of the appointing authority and upon
approval by the Personnel Officer and the Chief Justice,
the salary of any employee may be reduced for "below
standard” or “"unacceptable" performance as indicated by
performance evaluations or other pertinent data. The
reduction shall be one step in the salary grade assigned
for the class of position which the person is employed.
However, such a decrease shall not result in a pay rate
below step A of the salary grade. The salary decrease
date shall become the date for calculating the next merit
eligibility date.

4.1%5 Termination Compensation

A terminating employee, except those terminated during an
initial probationary period, who gives at least five
working days' notice of resignation will be paid for each
day of annual leave accrued to the date of termination.
Notice may be waived in writing by the Personnel Officer.
Payment will be made at the salary level at the time of
termination. (Reference 6.7 for 10-day notice for rehire
privilege.)

4.16 Additional Compensation

No compensation in addition to the employee’s regular
salary shall be received from any source by any full-time
employee for work performed during regular hours of
employment.

4.17 Overtime Compensation

Overtime compensation is the rate of payment for working
in excess of a forty-hour work week. The Fair Labor
standards Act as amended in 1985 requires governmental
employers to compensate nonexempt employees at the rate of:
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a .

A compensatory hour and one-half off for an overtime
hour worked.

A nonexempt employee may accumulate up to 240 compen-
satory time hours (20 days x 8 hours x 1.5 = 240).

I1f an employee terminates employment with accumulated
compensatory time, the emplovee shall be compensated
at the time and a half rate for overtime worked in
cash at a rate of compensation not less than either
the average regular rate received by the employee
during the last three years of the employee's employ-
ment or the final regular rate received by such
employee, whichever is higher.

Longevity compensation shall increase the base hourly
rate applying to overtime pay for hours worked during
the twelve months preceding the longevity anniversary
date and shall affect the payment of accrued compen-
satory time to an employee upon termination.

Longevity Compensation

Longevity payment shall be made to eligible emplovees with
at least 120 full months of satisfactory service, and is
subject to the following provisions:

a.’

Longevity payment will occur on the first of the
month following the payroll period in which the
longevity anniversary date occurs. (Reference KCPR
1.4w.)

Longevity payments will be subject to the standard
payroll deductions of Federal Income Withholding Tax,
State Income Withholding Tax, Social Security Tax
(F,.I.C.A.), and Employees' Retirement contributilons.

Previous service with county governments, state
agencies, and state courts shall be used in computing
longevity anniversary dates for longevity service
credit purposes for persons employed by the district
courts as of January 1, 1979. With the exception of
prior state agency service, persons hired by district
courts on and after January 1, 1979 shall not be
accorded this benefit.

In calculating longevity service credits, adjustments
will be made to the longevity anniversary date for
evaluation ratings of "below standard" or "unaccept-
able* work performance on or after June 18, 1989,
leave without pay of 31 or more consecutive days,
breaks in service, and permanent part-time and tem-
porary employment.

Leaves as a result of military service pursuant to
KCPR 8.6, or receiving workers' compensation benefits
after May 1, 1983 shall be counted as time worked for
an employee's longevity service credit as long as the
employee remains in official pay status.
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hired to the monthly salary. For example, a Records Clerk I
employed at Grade 9, Step A for 1/4 time employment would earn
$262.50 per month computed as $1,050.00 x 25% = $262.50.

Temporary employees' wages will be computed by multiplying the
number of hours worked times the hourly wagé rate at which the
employee is hired. To compute the hourly wage rate, divide the

annual amount shown on the pay scale by 2,080.

A.3 Merit Pay Steps

Step A through Step O of the compensation schedule are merit
pay steps. A salary increase from Step A to Step B may be granted
to all court employees after six months of service and the
submission of an evaluation of "good" or better by the appointing
authority.

A.4 Overtime Exempt and Nonexempt Job Classifications

a. District personnel employed in one of the job
classifications listed below are classified as exempt

under FLSA and are not eligible for overtime compensation:
Exempt Job Classes

Administrative Assistant

Administrative Judge

Clerk of the District Court I

Clerk of the District Court II

Clerk of the District Court III

Clerk of the District Court IV

*xCourt Services Officer II - supervisory duties only
Court Services Officer III

Court Services Administrative Officer

District Court Administrator I



Exempt Job Classes (Cont'd)

District Court Administrator II
District Court Administrator III
Districet Judge

District Magistrate Judge

Law Related Education Specilalist
Librarian I

Official Court Reporter
Programmer II

Records Clerk III

Systems Analyst

Trial Court Clerk III

Trial Court Clerk IV

Trial Court Clerk V

Trial Court Cecordinator

b. District personnel employed in one of the job
classifications listed below are classified as
nonexempt under FLSA and are eligible for overtime

compensation:
Nonexempt Job Classes

Account Clerk I

Account Clerk II

*Accounting Technician - nonsupervisory duties
Bailiff

Clerk

Clerk Typlst

Court Services Officer I

*[,aw Clerk - not on a judge's personal staff
Library Assistant

Records Clerk T

Records Clerk II
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APPENDIX D
FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

GUIDELINES

The United States Supreme Court (Feb. 19. 1985) reversed
an earlier decision and held that the Fair Labor Standards Act
(FLSA), 29 U.s.C., 201 et seq., applies to employees of state
and local governments. Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan
Transit Authority, 105 S. Ct. 1005. Subsequently. Congress

enacted, and the President signed on November 13, 1985, an act
entitled, Fair Labor Standards Amendments of 1985, which

provides special rules for governmental organizations. The
purpose of these guidelines ig to furnish basic information
concerning the application of FLSA standards and requirements

to the judicial branch.

A. GENERAL GUIDELINES

Cagh payment for overtime is necessary only when a non-
exenpt employee accumulates more than 240 hours of compensatory
time or when an employee who has accumulated éompensatory time.
terminates employment. Care should be exercised to ensure that
compensatory time earned by a nonexempt employee 1ig used within
a reasonable period after it is earned. Cash payment for
overtime should be avoided because the payment will cause a

severe adverse impact on the personnel budget. Therefore:
1. No employee shall be regularly gcheduled to work overtime.

2. Overtime should be authorized in advance by the
appropriate administrative authority, e.g.. district
administrative judge. All time that a nonexempt employvee
is permitted to work, however, must be counted as hours
worked whether or not such work was specifically

authorized.



Overtime for which there must be compensatory time grantegd

does gpot occur until after forty hours are worked during a
seven-day work week. If a nonexempt emplovee is required
to work more than forty hours in a week, every attempt
shall be made to allow the employee to take compensatory
time off as soon as feaslible to avoid accumulation of

compensatory time.

Accurate records for documenting time worked including
overtime worked by each nonexempt employee shall be
maintained by immediate superviéors, showinﬁ the total
hours worked per day, overtime, compensatory time off
earned for overtime, compensatory time off taken. and
accumilated balance of compensatory time.

When computing overtime, any time not actually worked

(even though the employee is on pay status, e.g., annual

leave, sick leave, holidays, discretionary leave., etc.)

'nwill not be counted as part of the forty-hour work week

for overtime pay purposes.

The normal work week for a full-time employee shall not

exceed forty hours.

B. OVERTIME COMPENSATION GUIDELINES

Overtime compensation shall be paid in accordance with the

following guidelines:

1.

2.

Nonexempt employees shall be compensated with time off.

A nonexempt employee may accumulate up to 240 hours of
compensatory time. After that level is reached.'however.
overtime must be compensated for in cash. It is therefore
good management procedure to require compensatory time off

to be used as soon as feasible after it is earned.



When a nonexenmpt emplovee reaches 240 accumulated
compensatory hours the administrative authority shall

notify the Budget and Fiscal Officer.

3. If compensatory time has accumulated and employment 1is
terminated by death, discharge, resignation, or retirement
a nonexempt employee must be compensated in cash for the

overtime worked. ({(Reference KCPR 4.17.)

C. GRIEVANCE GUIDELINE

Right to File

1. District employees in one of the job classifications
listed below are classified as exempt under FLSA and are

not eligible for overtime compensation:
Exempt Job Classeé

Administrative Assistant
Administrative Judge

Clerk of the District Court I

Clerk of the District Court II

Clerk of the District Court III

Clerk of the Distriect Court IV

*Court Services Officer II - supervisory duties only
Court Services Officer III

Court Services Administrative Officer
District Court Administrator I
District Court Administrator II
District Court Administrator III
District Judge

Distriet Magistrate Judge

Law Related Education Specialist

Librarian



Exempt Job Classes (Cont'd)

Official Court Reporter
Programmer II

Records Clerk 111
Systems Analyst

Trial Court Clerk III
Trial Court Clerk IV
Trial Court Clerk V

Trial Court Coordinator

2. District employees employed in one of the job classifi-
cations listed below are classified as nonexempt under

FLSA and are eligible for overtime compensation:
Nonexempt Job Classes

Account Clerk I

Account Clerk TII

*Accounting Technician - nonsupervisory duties
Bailiff

Clerk

Clerk Typist

Court Services Officer I

*Law Clerk - not on a judge's personal staff
Library Assistant

Records Clerk I

Records Clerk 1I

Secretary I* - confidential employee
Secretary 1I* - confidential employee
Transcriptionist

Trial Court Clerk I

*Trial Court Clerk II - nonsupervisory dutiles
Word Processing Technician I

*Programmer I - nonsupervisory duties

*Indicates possible exceptions. Some of these positions may be
considered exempt if the employee's primary responsibility
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includes supervising other employ®es oOr if the employee 1s on
the personal statf of a judge. The Director of Personnel/Pro-
grams shall be notified of any discrepancies and will determine

it the position will be classified as exempt or nonexempt.

3. Exempt and nonexempt job classes for the appellate level

shall be designated by Supreme Court Order.

D. FLSA GUIDELINE DEFINITIONS

L. Actual work time refers to the actual hours worked,

including. "physical or mental exertion (whether
burdensome or not) controlled or required by the employer
and pursued necessarily and primarily for the benefit of
the employer or his business.® It includes any work which

the employee performs on or away from the premises.

Compensatory time refers to time off for nonexempt

[y

employees in lieu of payment, for working over 40 hours in

a work week.

3. Confidential employee refers to the immediate support
staff who serve at the pleasure of justices, judges,

administrative and elected officials. (Reference KCPR 5.3)

4. Employee refers to a person who is permitted to work and

provide services for wages or salary.

5. Nonexempt Employee Timesheet refers to the form that

records the actual,time a nonexempt employee 1is on the

job, overtime worked, and compensatory time carned and

taken.
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10.

Employee refers to a person who 1is permitted to work and

provide services for wages or salary.

Nonexempt Emplovee Timesheet refers to the form that

records the actual time a nonexempt employee is on the
job, overtime worked, and compensatory time earned and

taken.

Exempt job clagses refer to those job classifications

which conform to FSLA section 13(a) and are defined as
executive, administrative, or professional positions.
Employees in these job classes do not have the right to
file overtime grievances because of their primary
regponsibilities which involve the exercise of discretion
and independent judgment. (Reference KCPR Appendix A,
sect. A.4.)

FLSA, Fair Labor Standards Act refers to the enactment by

" congress in 1938 which established various labor standards

including minimum wage, overtime, and record-keeping
requirements for employers and employees in the private
sector. - This Act now makes special provisions for

governmental employees by a 1985 amendment.

Nonexempt job classes refers to those job classifications

which are not defined as executive, administrative, or
professional, and do not have discretionary, supervisory.
or managerial responsibilities (e.g.. entry-level

clerical). (Reference KCPR Appendix A, sect. A.4.)

Oovertime refers to working time in excess of a forty-hour

work week. (Reference KCPR 8.1.)

Overtime Compensation refers to the rate of payment for
working in excess of a forty-hour work week. FLSA
reguires governmental employers to compensate nonexempt

employees at the rate of:



11.

12.

(a) an hour and a half off for an overtlme hour
worked, and

(b) cash payment at the hourly rate of pay for an
overtime hour worked in excess of 160 overtime hours
(240 hours accumulated compensatory time), or

(¢) cash payment at terminations (for any reason,
i.e.. resignation, retirement, discharge., or death).
Pay at termination is for overtime hours worked and
is at the hourly rate of pay at termination or the
average hourly rate for the last 3 years of

employment, whichever is greater.

Work week refers to a regular recurring period of 168
hours in the form of seven consecutive 24-hour periods.
The work week may begin on any day of the week and at any
hour of the day. Once established by an administrative
judge, 2 ﬁork week should not be changed unless it 1is

hintended to be a permanent change.

Travel time in certain instances is work performed. For

nonexempt employees, normal travel to and from work is not
compensable. However, if an emergency situation requires

a nonexempt employee to return to work from home after

no¥ma1 working hours, the emergency work time shall

include the necessary travel time. When a nonexempt
employee must travel away from the home community (e.g..
for a tralnlng seminar) the necessary travel time counts
as work performed and is conpensable if the employee must
drive a vehicle. According to the Federal Labor
Department a passenger does not qualify for compensation.
Meals taken during the travel and time off before and

after the seminar do not count as work performed.



NMONEXEMPT EWMPLOYEE TIHESHEET
INSTRUCTIONS

A time sheet shall be kept for each ncnexempt employee. At the beginning
of the year, or when a new employee begins work, the employee's name, title,
position number, work week beginning time and day of the week, and year blanks
ashould be filled out. If a nconexempt employee has accumulated compensatory
time earned but not taken, the balance forward blenk should be filled in by
entering the accumulated amount in the column headed "Balance Forward,” in the

compensatory time section of the form.

The beginning of the workweek should be selected with care and made known
to employees. If, for instance, Friday at 5 p.m. is selectad, supervisors
will have maximum flexibility in scheduling the employee's work; for example,
if there is unavoidable work to be done on a weekend. Early scheduling of

compensatory time off prevents accumulation of compensatory time which may

have to be redeemed by cash payment.

Dates on the calendar part of the form which do not océur during a pay
period should be crossed off. For example, in the pay period beginning Feb-
ruary 18, three years out of four, the 29th, 30th, and 31st would be crossed
of f. In the fourth year (leap year) the 30th and 31lst would be crossed off.
Weekend days should be entered according to the key (S, Su) if no work isg

performed so that work weeks can be identified more easlly.

In recording hours worked, actusl hours shall be used. That is, if 3.5
hours are worked in the morning and 3.5 worked in the afternoon, 7 hours have
been worked for the day and that figure should be shown for the date listed on
the form. Whenever more than 40 hours of work accumulate during a designated
168 consecutive hour week, then overtime hours have been logged. Holidays,
sick leave, annual leave, personal lesve, leave without pay should be shown in
the upper, calendar, section. Cumulative totals for these activities may be
shown in the lower section if doing so is more convenient for your personnel
record—keepiﬁg. That is, this portion of the form is not & prescribed

record-keeping form except for overtime end compensatory time.



As an example of the prescribed use of the form, if a nonexemplt employee
were to work more than forty hours in a work week, then overtime has been
worked and should be recorded in the overtime column at the end of the month.
Because the preferred method of compensating for overtime is compensatory time
of f, overtime worked is multiplied by 1.5 in the compensatory time area of the
timesheet and the result entered in the column headed “CT Earned"” as a
positive {plus) number. Any compensatory time scheduled snd taken is entered
in the calendar area on the date taken as CT (compensatory time} and also as a

negative (minus) figure in the CT Taken column.

At the end of each month, the "Balance Forward" column of the timesheet
should be completed by checking to be sure that all overtime hours worked from
the calendar section have been posted, multiplied by the 1.5 rate and entered
as compensatory time earned. The next step is to check for entries in the
calendar section for compensatory time taken and to make sure these have been
entered as negative (minus) numbers in the column headed "CT Taken” column.
The amount in the "CT Taken" column is then deducted from the "CT Earned”
column. If there is a positive (plus) result, that figure is added to the
previous amount in the “Balence Forward" column. If the result is a negative
(minus) figure, that amount is subtracted from the "Balance Fofward“ column

for the previous month (or year) and the new result entered in the "Balance

Forward®" column.

If more than 240 compensatory time hours have been earned the figures
should be closely checked to ensure there are no errors, the District
designation entered, the form signed by the Supervisor, and the number of
overtime hours approved by the administrative authority entered and the
complete form signed by the administrative judge. The form should then be
sent to the Fiscal and Budget Officer at Topeka. This procedure shall alse be
followed whenever & nonexempt employee terminates with a compensatory time-
earned-but-not-taken balance. If the employee has not terninated, begin a new
timesheet with a beginning balance of 240 hours of compensatory time earned
but not taken. If you use the timesheet to keep cumulative totals for other

types of leave, these totals should also be entered on the new form.
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